What the F$#K? Should You Swear or Not in Your Blog Posts? — The Art of Blogging

Odds are you guessed this terribly, terribly wrong. And if you guessed “Luck be in the air tonight” maybe this blog post won’t help you much anyways… Blogging using some cuss words has become quite trendy among some incredibly popular bloggers and social media users, but I’m wondering if it’s really worth it? Or beneficial? […]

via What the F$#K? Should You Swear or Not in Your Blog Posts? — The Art of Blogging.

I do my best not to swear in my blog posts. If I re-blog/vlog or share a blog/vlog that I know has swear words in it, I will note something like mild profanity, major profanity, F-bombs, etc.. With vlogs, it’s not always easy to tell as the Closed Captioning (CC) and transcripts sometimes hide profanity or add profanity that’s not in the video. A good example was a YouTube video about a naval captain named Fluckey. The CC version for the video decided Fluckey was pronounced as something else, specifically a profanity.

I used to admin a PC gaming fan-site. One of my personal rules was that I didn’t post profanity, and a second rule was that my involvement as an admin would end when the site became something I wouldn’t want my daughter to read. The second part happened about 5 – 6 years after I became an admin. The site owner decided to open a section that was labelled as a No Holds Barred anything goes free for all. I don’t remember the exact wording, but it was intentionally worded to encourage flame wars (What is a Flame War?) posting. I left as did many other members. This site was around the third biggest fan-site for the game. Up to that point, it was known as being the friendliest of the fan-sites. It also had never had a flame war. People disagreed, but most of them did so in at least a respectful manner. There were a few who bordered on being disrespectful, but it was the exception more than the rule.

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.