If You Order Glasses Online, This Kickstarter May Be for You

I debated posting this in early January when I first saw the campaign. It only 31 hours to go right now.

I am going to start this with https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Caveat_emptor aka “Let the buyer beware.” I throw this out as an option, but use your own judgment if you think it’s worth supporting or later purchasing. I include some other options below that may or may not be cheaper. I am on the fence as it potentially serves a need, but I don’t know anybody who has tried it yet. Also, based on a few reviews, the company keeps your eye information even if you no longer are a customer. It sounds like some of their products require an annual subscription, but it’s not clear if this will. It’s worth noting the company encourages you to stick with regular eye examinations, which is a good idea.

Ordering eyeglasses online has become popular. In fact, several companies offer great deals if you order online. When it can become a problem is how this Kickstarter campaign developed: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/eyeque/eyeque-pdcheck-the-fastest-and-easiest-way-to-get. I did a blog post of an online eyeglasses company that offers low prices: Need Eyeglasses? Check Out Zenni Optical. I haven’t used it, but several friends use Zenni and have positive things to say about Zenni. My friends are pretty harsh critics which makes their reviews stand out more in my mind. I can’t afford to get my eyes tested or I would have already purchased through Zenni.

What’s nice about the above Kickstarter is the low cost and the fact it can be used by more than one person; at least one of their other products appears to only work for one person from what is reported by some reviews. From responses by the company on Facebook, some of the earlier devices may work for more than one person. The reviews of two (2) of their other products have mixed reviews (99 reviews each with 3.1 stars for the average) on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_pdt_bl_sr?ie=UTF8&field-keywords=EyeQue. It’s mixed reviews like this is a primary reason I don’t trust online reviews. On Facebook, 4.1 out of 5 with 25 reviews.

You can achieve similar results a number of other ways, cost may vary. For example, your eye doctor can provide the the information. You can also do the old pen/pencil, ruler, and paper method using a mirror or camera. You can even purchase a cheap reading pair of glasses at your favorite retailer and mark the distance yourself or have a family member or friend mark them to get what you need.

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.