Daily Archives: October 17, 2019

Missiles and More Museum, Topsail Island – North Carolina Thursdays October 17, 2019

This one almost fell in my lap. I was looking at Burgaw, North Carolina since I was at the top of North Carolina for last week’s North Carolina Thursdays post. The town name Burgaw stuck in my mind as unusual. … Continue reading

Posted in History, Military History, Social Media, States | Tagged , , , , , , | Leave a comment

How I Approach Wild Claims – October 17, 2019

When I see wild, and often not so wild, claims, I approach them with a neutral attitude. It doesn’t matter if I agree or disagree with the claim. I look at both, or all sides in the case there are … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers | Leave a comment

Drawlloween 2019 – Squonk — Pict Ink

Today’s prompt was Cryptid and I felt overwhelmed by all of the possibilities. I love x-creatures and have favourite cryptids (bigfoot, jackalope, and wendigo) and also have favourite mythological beasts from my own culture (selkies, kelpies, changelings). I decided, however, … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers | Tagged | 2 Comments

Midget U-Boats: Germany’s Tiny Submarines – YouTube Video

I saw this on YouTube – Midget U-Boats: Germany’s Tiny Submarines: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4TsAUz76gNs (around 10:31 minutes long). I haven’t heard much about these, but here’s some more information: https://www.naval-encyclopedia.com/ww2/nazi-germany/german-mini-subs-and-human-torpedoes/.      

Posted in Military History, Social Media | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

How Not to Get Hired: A Few Crappy Lines to Add to Your CV — Learn Fun Facts

Job seekers spend a lot of time crafting a perfect CV. Well, at least, that’s the idea. Here are some of the oddest CV goofs culled from real-life examples: “The company made me a scapegoat, just like my three previous … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers | Tagged | Leave a comment

LivingDNA Update – Cruwys News 17 October 2019

I saw this on the LivingDNA website – https://livingdna.com/, but saw it first on Cruwys News – https://cruwys.blogspot.com/2019/10/big-changes-at-living-dna.html. The prices are the same amount in US$ as the prices on Debbie’s blog that are in GBP. Existing Living DNA customers … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers, DNA | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Irish birth, marriage and death certificates now available online for free – Irish Central October 16, 2019

I saw this on Irish Central – Irish birth, marriage and death certificates now available online for free: https://www.irishcentral.com/roots/genealogy/irish-geneaology-resource-free. A plethora of Irish genealogy records has been made available online thanks to a joint initiative from the Department of Culture, … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers, Genealogy | Tagged | Leave a comment

Yahoo Groups is finally coming to end on December 14th — Critical Hit

I’m surprised it lasted this long ,but it seems that Yahoo is finally bringing its once-popular Groups platform to an end. As originally seen on Critical Hit!Yahoo Groups is finally coming to end on December 14th via Yahoo Groups is finally … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers | 7 Comments

Recently Added and Updated Collections on Ancestry – October 14, 2019

I saw today on Ancestry.com – Recently Added and Updated Collections on Ancestry – October 14, 2019: https://www.ancestry.com/cs/recent-collections. Only including updates since October 9. New and Updated   UPDATED Jalisco, Mexico, Civil Registration Births, 1857-1948 10/14/2019 UPDATED Massachusetts, Boston Archdiocese … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers, Cemetery, Genealogy, History | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Meet the Latin America Research Team! – FamilySearch October 14, 2019

I saw this yesterday on FamilySearch – Meet the Latin America Research Team!: https://www.familysearch.org/blog/en/latin-america-research-team/. atin American research presents a variety of challenges, especially if you can’t understand the different languages that the records are written in. Thankfully, the Family History … Continue reading

Posted in Bloggers, Genealogy | Tagged , | Leave a comment