Nazi POW Camp, Concordia – Kansas Tuesdays August 27, 2019

I went with the Nazi POW Camp in Concordia, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post – https://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/16021

Website: http://powcampconcordia.org/

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip: No listing located – https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/

Cloud County (Kansas) Tourism): http://www.cloudcountytourism.com/wwii-pow-camp-concordia

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/WWII.PRISON.CAMP.CONCORDIA/

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=POW%20Camp%20Concordia

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: https://www.getruralkansas.com/Concordia/63Explore/195.shtml

 Google Maps: Concordia, Kansas (Street View available, but don’t see it)

Inspirock: https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/concordia/wwii-german-pow-camp-a7309563885

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/515142843/pow-camp-concordia-kansas/

https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/412359562528527/wwii-german-pow-camp-concordia/

Kansas Historical Society: https://www.kshs.org/kansapedia/camp-concordia/19932

https://www.kshs.org/publicat/history/1984autumn_obrien.pdf (PDF)

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: https://www.kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located https://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/campconcordia.htm

KS History Group D: https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/camp-concordia/

KS Hometown Locator:  https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,66901,p,pow%20camp%20museum,i,8408lxx5-80d5914340ca090e8143b93b320b4b3b.cfm

Legends of America: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/ No listing located

Legends of Kansas: http://www.legendsofkansas.com/ No listing located

Only In Your State:  https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/ No listing located

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?autologin=true&q=Camp%20Concordia&rs=typed&term_meta[]=[CampConcordia|typed]

Roadside America:  https://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/16021 (same as link above)

Road Trippers:  https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/concordia-ks/points-of-interest/camp-concordia

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Travel Kansas: No listing located https://www.travelks.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g38642-d8146382-Reviews-WWII_German_POW_Camp-Concordia_Kansas.html

Tumblr: no listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=POW%20Camp%20Concordia&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/search?q=POW%20Camp%20Concordia

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camp_Concordia

not directly mentioned on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas, but it does link to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_County_Historical_Museum which links to Camp Concordia ZZZZ

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/pow-camp-museum-concordia

YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=POW+Camp+Concordia (search) – not much

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in History, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nazi POW Camp, Concordia – Kansas Tuesdays August 27, 2019

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Wow so you visited this POW camp before, how was it? Crazy to think that Nazis were under guard in the US

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, I haven’t visited it, other Google Street View. There isn’t much to see as most of the site has been torn down. Think a couple of buildings were still standing on Street View. It’s on my Bucket List as Concordia also has an old missile silo that’s been turned into a prepper bunker. It’s funny they tried hiding the location, but they included a sign that showed the Missile silo number which made it easy to find. Plus, the local TV station interviewed someone from the site.

      I should do a post on POW camps in the U. S. as there were a few. Looks like 425,000 Germans in 700 camps in the U. S. according to Wikipedia. Looks like the handful of German admirals and generals wind up in Camp Shelby, Mississippi.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.