Happy 230th Birthday U. S. Coast Guard August 4, 2020

Happy 230th Birthday to the United States Coast Guard (USCG). It started out as the Revenue Marine on August 4, 1790. It would later be known as the U.S. Revenue Cutter Service until it was merged with the U.S. Life-Saving Service on January 28, 1915 as the U.S. Coast Guard. You can visit the Coast Guard‘s website at https://www.uscg.mil/.

A big thank you to GP Cox for the reminder on this post – https://pacificparatrooper.wordpress.com/2020/08/03/sports-in-the-wwii-military/.

To my nephew who retired from the Coast Guard, an uncle who also retired from the Coast Guard and passed away back in 2008, and to those currently serving in the Coast Guard, your dedication is appreciated.

 

 

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in History, Military History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy 230th Birthday U. S. Coast Guard August 4, 2020

  1. GP Cox says:

    Thank you for helping them to celebrate!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome. I didn’t know my uncle was in the Coast Guard just before World War II until I started researching him as part of my genealogy. I only met him once, but he never talked about his service. I was surprised that one of my first cousins was born in Hawaii as he was stationed ther shortly after the war as I figured that was going to be the one state I would have trouble connecting to my family.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.