Ottawa County Historical Museum, Minneapolis – Kansas Tuesdays February 25, 2020

I continued heading westward for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post.  I went with Minneapolis in Ottawa County as an initial point. I chose Ottawa County Historical Museum as this week’s post – https://www.minneapolis-ks.com/2179/Visitors. Will be interesting to see what I can find about the museum. The museum includes a large collection about George Washington Carver who lived there for several years. As it’s Black History Month, I thought this was a good choice for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. It also fits with my earlier Gif vs. Jif post today and my next post that is a re-blog about George Washington Carver.

A large corner of the Ottawa County Museum is filled with exhibits about George Washington Carver, who lived in Minneapolis for several years as a boy. I particularly enjoyed listening to a recording of Carver from shortly before his death. His voice was high pitched, and I would have guessed that it was a woman speaking.

Other exhibits of particular interest include Silvisaurus condrayi, a Kansas dinosaur with many fossils in Ottawa County, and the story of Grace Bedell and the letter she sent to Presidential candidate Abe Lincoln suggesting that he grow a beard.

Website: http://www.ottawacounty.org/Community/HistoricalMuseum/tabid/3806/Default.aspx  official website on Wikipedia is no longer used by the museum. Wayback Machine to the rescue – https://web.archive.org/web/20160209234838/http://ottawacountyksmuseum.com/. At some point in 2018, the website was taken over by an Asian company. As of today, it’s for sale on GoDaddy.com

The Ottawa County Historical Museum, in Minneapolis, Kansas, is located at 110 South Concord Street. Hours open are Tuesday through Saturday, 10:00 a.m. – noon and 1:00 – 5:00 p.m.  Visitors are welcome.  There is no admission charge, but donations are accepted.

Phone:

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: https://www.atlasobscura.com/ No listing located

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): mentioned – https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/ (no listing located)

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/ottawacountykansasmuseum/?rf=113509092005153

Flickr: no listings found – https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: No listings found https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: Limited listing located, broken link to museum website http://getruralkansas.org/Minneapolis/268index.shtml

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/ No listing located

Google Maps: Google Maps, Ottawa County Historical Museum, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: https://www.hmdb.org/ No listing located

Inspirock: No lisitngs located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/521182874923873/ottawa-county-historical-museum/

Kansas GenWeb: http://www.ksgenweb.org/ottawa/ Not seeing much

Kansas Historical Society: https://www.kshs.org/kansapedia/ottawa-county-kansas/15327

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,67436,p,ottawa%20county%20historical%20museum,i,8409yfw8-1ec6f428bbec4ee0a0a28f83075bf82c.cfm

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: https://www.kansassampler.org/erv/blog.php?act=view&id=128

Kansas Transportation: No listing located https://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/ottawacountymuseum.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only In Your State: No listings located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: Some listings located https://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=Ottawa%20County%20Museum%20Kansas&rs=typed

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listings located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: https://www.travelks.com/listing/ottawa-county-historical-museum/5310/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g38903-d259726-Reviews-Ottawa_County_Historical_Museum-Minneapolis_Kansas.html

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Ottawa%20County%20Museum%20Kansas&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/ (no videos found)

Waymarking: No listings located https://www.waymarking.com/

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: Not listed https://en.wikipedia.org/, and mentioned on  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas but with a broken link.

Yelp: No listings located https://www.yelp.com/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Ottawa+County+Museum+Kansas (Not  many videos found)

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Cemetery, Genealogy, Military History, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ottawa County Historical Museum, Minneapolis – Kansas Tuesdays February 25, 2020

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    With this virus situation I realize I miss visiting Museums

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.