Oakes African American Cultural Center, Yazoo City – Mississippi Mondays January 31, 2022

I decided to look around Yazoo County, Mississippi for this week’s Mississippi Mondays post.  Found Oakes African American Cultural Center, Yazoo City: https://visityazoo.org/oakes-african-american-cultural-center/. COVID-19 precautions may be in effect. 

Official website: https://visityazoo.org/oakes-african-american-cultural-center/

HOURS: weekdays, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Open at other times and on weekends by appointment.

Admission: Admission is free; donations are welcome.

Address: 312 S Monroe St, Yazoo City, MS 39194
Phone: 662-746-5038 or 662-746-7984
 

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blog Posts by Other Bloggers: No listing located

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Oakes-African-American-Culture-Center/108143359227883

Flickr: No listing located https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Google Maps: Google Maps Directions Yazoo City, MS  (Street View available)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Gulflive: No listing located https://www.gulflive.com/

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=77230

InspirockNo listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagramhttps://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/oakesafricanamericanculturecenter/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/166225-augustus-oakes-house/

Mississippi Blues Trail: No listing located http://msbluestrail.org/museums

Mississippi Department of Archives and History:  https://www.apps.mdah.ms.gov/nom/prop/31230.pdf

Mississippi Encyclopedia: No listing located https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/

Mississippi HillsNo listing located  https://mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,39194,p,oakes%20african%20amer%20cultural%20ctr,i,8409vzdy-335128c578944e85b7d0cf645475a9ca.cfm

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located https://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Obscura: No listing located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: https://mississippitoday.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listing located http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listing located https://misspreservation.com/

Museums Database: No listing located https://museumsdatabase.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/mississippi/yazoo-city/oakes-african-american-cultural-center

Museums USA: No listing located https://www.museumsusa.org/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Register of Places: https://www.apps.mdah.ms.gov/nom/prop/31230.pdf

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinteresthttps://www.pinterest.com/pin/471470654713636055/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/LocationPhotoDirectLink-g44101-i76292292-Yazoo_City_Mississippi.html

TripHobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Oakes%20African%20American%20Cultural%20Center&src=typed_query

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listings located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listing located https://www.visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: No listing located https://www.waymarking.com/

Wikipedia: no article, and listed on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/oakes-african-american-culture-center-yazoo-city

YouTube channel or search: Some videos located – https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Oakes+African+American+Cultural+Center+Yazoo+City+MS

 

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

 

Advertisement

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in History, Social Media, States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oakes African American Cultural Center, Yazoo City – Mississippi Mondays January 31, 2022

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Love the front part of their musuem; nice building

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.