Tishomingo County Archives and History Museum AKA Old County Courthouse, Iuka – Mississippi Mondays August 30, 2021

I decided to look around Tishomingo County, Mississippi for this week’s Mississippi Mondays post.  Found Tishomingo County Archives and History Museum AKA Old County Courthouse, Iuka: https://www.courthousemuseum.com/; old site –  https://web.archive.org/web/20160101160042/https://www.tishomingohistory.com/. Check before scheduling a visit and verify hours open. It’s operated by the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society. Looks like the link on Wikipedia is now used by a different company.

Official website: https://www.courthousemuseum.com/, https://msdiglib.org/tchgs and  https://web.archive.org/web/20160101160042/https://www.tishomingohistory.com/

HOURS: MUSEUM HOURS Wednesday and Thursday 9 – 5 P. M.; Friday 9 – 4 P. M.

Admission: no admission price listed. The society does offer membership although having trouble locating a link

Address:

203 East Quitman Street, PO Box 273 Iuka, MS 38852

Phone: 662.423.3500

 

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blog Posts by Other Bloggers: No listing located

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tishomingohistory/

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/auvet/17215312054

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/US/Iuka/111690829668/Old-Courthouse-Museum

Google Maps: Google Maps Directions Iuka, MS (Street View available)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Gulflive: No listing located https://www.gulflive.com/

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=51745

Inspirock: https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/iuka/old-tishomingo-county-courthouse-museum-a3308033777

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/430433393/old-courthouse-museum/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/122421-old-tishomingo-county-courthouse/

Mississippi Blues Trail: No listing located http://msbluestrail.org/museums

Mississippi Department of Archives and History: No listing located https://www.mdah.ms.gov/

Mississippi Encyclopedia: No listing located https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/

Mississippi Hills: No listing located http://www.mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,38852,p,the%20old%20courthouse%20museum,i,840dn1q1-943dca5a9bcb4531a3bd0fa9b7fbd4a6.cfm

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located https://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Museums: No listing located https://mississippimuseums.org/

Mississippi Obscura: No listing located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: https://mississippitoday.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listing located http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listing located https://misspreservation.com/

Museums Database: No listing located https://museumsdatabase.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/mississippi/iuka/tishomingo-county-archives-and-history-museum

Museums USA: No listing located https://www.museumsusa.org/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Register of Places: https://npgallery.nps.gov/AssetDetail/18a2dc72-5810-4639-9b7b-0042e784d699

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/mississippi/explore-the-courthouse-that-earned-iuka-its-nickname-ms/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/99923685452970369/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g43832-d8106116-Reviews-Old_Tishomingo_County_Courthouse_Museum-Iuka_Mississippi.html

TripHobo: https://www.triphobo.com/places/iuka-united-states/tishomingo-county-courthouse

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: Some listings located https://twitter.com/search?q=Old%20County%20Courthouse%20Iuka&src=typed_query

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listings located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listing located https://www.visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMHZ47_Old_Tishomingo_County_Courthouse_History_Museum_Iuka_MS

Wikipedia: no article, and listed on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/tishomingo-county-archives-and-history-museum-iuka

YouTube channel or search: channel:  Some videos locatedhttps://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Old+County+Courthouse+Iuka+MS

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

 

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in History, Social Media, States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.