Scranton Museum, Pascagoula – Mississippi Mondays June 21, 2021

I decided to look around Jackson County, Mississippi for this week’s Mississippi Mondays post.  Found Scranton Museum in Pascagoula: https://web.archive.org/web/20131207165839/http://cityofpascagoula.com/scranton-museum. Check before scheduling a visit and verify hours open. The museum was closed in 2018 due to safety issues. Would be nice to see it re-opened one day.  Some of the items were added to the Scranton Nature Centerhttps://web.archive.org/web/20131207172023/http://cityofpascagoula.com/scranton-nature-center Scranton Nature Center permanently closed. 

Official website: https://web.archive.org/web/20131207165839/http://cityofpascagoula.com/scranton-museum

HOURS
Old hours: Open Fridays and Saturdays from 10AM-5PM
 
Old Admission cost is $2 for adults and $1 for children
 
Groups by Reservation

Admission: see above; it’s closed now – looks like it suffered from Hurricane Katrina based on the one photo. 

Address:

Pascagoula River Front Park, 4100 Clark St, Pascagoula, MS 39581

Scranton Nature Center: Tuesday – Saturday 10am-5pm. Cost is $2 per adult and $1 per child ages 2-12 (Group Rates Available). For questions about the Nature Center call today at 228-938-2356 Permanently closed as well. 

Phone: +1-228-938-6612 (for the Scranton Museum)

 
 

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura – No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blog Posts by Other Bloggers: N/A

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PascagoulaCity/

Flickr: No listing located https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: https://foursquare.com/v/scranton-shrimp-boat-museum/51bb3768498e341f01dec67a/photos

Gluseum: No listing located https://www.gluseum.com/

Google Maps: Google Maps Directions Pascagoula, MS (Street View available)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Gulflive: https://www.gulflive.com/mississippi-press-news/2013/06/scranton_museum_celebrates_gra.html

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=117278/

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/917970121626172/scranton-floating-museum/

Landmarkhunter: No listing located http://landmarkhunter.com/

Mississippi Blues Trail: No listing located http://msbluestrail.org/museums

Mississippi Department of Archives and History: No listing located https://www.apps.mdah.ms.gov/

Mississippi Encyclopedia: No listing located https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/

Mississippi Hills: No listing located http://www.mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,39567,p,scranton%20museum,i,840dj3hf-8e123737bed84b809f1334e129cd0a4d.cfm and https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,39567,p,scranton%20nature%20center,i,840dj3hc-2d829ece609d46c4b524d8af979654db.cfm

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located https://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Museums: No listing located https://mississippimuseums.org/

Mississippi Obscura: No listing located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: https://mississippitoday.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listing located http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listing located https://misspreservation.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/mississippi/pascagoula/scranton-museum (address for the Scranton Nature Center)

Museums USA: No listing located http://www.museumsusa.org/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Register of Places: No listing located http://www.nationalregisterofhistoricplaces.com/

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/253749760229590587/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/pascagoula-ms/attractions/scranton-museum

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g43940-d10489722-Reviews-Scranton_Museum-Pascagoula_Mississippi.html

TripHobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located  https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Scranton%20Museum%20Pascagoula&src=typed_query

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listings located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listing located https://www.visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: No listing located https://www.waymarking.com/

Wikipedia: no article listed; and listed on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/scranton-museum-pascagoula

YouTube channel or search: channel: Not seeing many videos located https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Scranton+Museum+Pascagoula+MS

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in History, Social Media, States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scranton Museum, Pascagoula – Mississippi Mondays June 21, 2021

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Thanks for the info of another musuem

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.