Baxter Springs Heritage Center and Museum, Baxter – Kansas Tuesdays April 6, 2021

I chose to look in Cherokee County, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. I went with the Baxter Springs Heritage Center and Museum, Baxter Springs – http://www.baxterspringsmuseum.org/. It may have restrictions due to COVID-19. It’s run by the Baxter Springs Historical Society.

Looks the building is still there per Google Maps street view. Call to see if museum is still open, hours, and admission price before planning a visit.

Official website: http://www.baxterspringsmuseum.org/

Baxter Springs Heritage Center and Museum

Hours:

Tuesday – Saturday 10:00 am – 3:30 pm (normal hours are open until 4:30 P. M.)
Closed Sunday and Monday (normally open on Sundays 1- 4 P. M., but believe pandemic issues is why it is closed for now on Sundays)

Covid-19 Hours of Operation
Masks Are Required

Address:

740 East Avenue
P.O. Box 514
Baxter Springs, KS 66713

Admission: free; donations welcome. Also has a gift shop https://baxterspringsmuseumstore.square.site/.

Phone: Museum – 620-856-2385

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): No listing located https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/

Facebook (website, search, or blog page: https://www.facebook.com/baxterspringsmuseum/

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/dustinholmes/5016081756

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: No listing located http://www.getruralkansas.org/

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/US/Baxter-Springs/218969226870/Baxter-Springs-Heritage-Center-%26-Museum

Google Maps: Google Maps Baxter Springs, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: No listing located https://www.hmdb.org/

Inspirock: https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/baxter-springs/baxter-springs-heritage-center-and-museum-a6129406683

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/558495617/baxter-springs-heritage-center-museum/

Kansas GenWeb: No listing located http://www.ksgenweb.org/

Kansas Historical Society: No listing located: https://www.kshs.org/

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/maps/distance-directions2.cfm?baxter%20springs%20heritage%20center%20%26%20museum@37.02814,-94.73314

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: https://kansassampler.org/8wondersofkansas-history/lead-and-zinc-mining-baxter-springs-and-galena-museums

Kansas Transportation: No listing located http://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/baxterspringsmuseum.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Landmarkhunter: No listing located http://landmarkhunter.com/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: brief mention of the museum https://www.legendsofamerica.com/ks-baxtersprings/

Museums Database: No listing located https://museumsdatabase.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/kansas/baxter-springs/baxter-springs-heritage-center-and-museum

National Register of Historic Places; No listing located https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm

NextDoor.com: No listing located

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/kansas/visit-historic-baxter-springs-ks/ (have to look for the museum)

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/baxter-springs-ks/attractions/baxter-springs-heritage-center-and-museum

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: https://www.travelks.com/listing/baxter-springs-heritage-center-%26-museum/358/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g38561-d3405403-Reviews-Baxter_Springs_Heritage_Center_and_Museum-Baxter_Springs_Kansas.html

Trip Hobo: https://www.triphobo.com/places/baxter-springs-united-states/baxter-springs-heritage-center—museum

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listings located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BSHCandM

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/ (No videos found)

Waymarking: No listing located https://www.waymarking.com

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: no article, and is mentioned on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas.

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/baxter-springs-heritage-center-and-museum-baxter-springs

YouTube: Channel – Some videos located https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Baxter+Springs+Heritage+Center+and+Museum+Baxter+Springs+KS

Zoom Info: https://www.zoominfo.com/c/baxter-springs-heritage-center-museum/409040852

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Genealogy, History, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.