Old Depot Museum, Ottawa – Kansas Tuesdays March 2, 2021

I chose to look in Franklin County, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. I went with the Old Depot Museum, Ottawa – https://www.olddepotmuseum.org/. It may have restrictions due to COVID-19. Run by the Franklin County Historical Society. When I did search for Ottawa, Kansas in earlier posts, I didn’t see anything in my search. However, by the time I did a Twitter search, I saw where I posted about it last October Old Depot Museum, Ottawa – Kansas Tuesdays October 13, 2020.

Decided to re-post it as it is an interesting museum. Some things have changed since the earlier post like hours as they used to be open Tuesdays and hours for the days they were open are similar to Saturday hours last year. The exception was Sunday which follows the same hours from 2020. I also found a vimeo that I didn’t see last time.

Official website: https://www.olddepotmuseum.org/; section about the Old Depot Museum: https://www.olddepotmuseum.org/historical-sites/old-depot-museum/

Old Depot Museum

Hours:

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday – 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.
Saturday – 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Sunday – 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

APPOINTMENTS ARE RECOMMENDED. We will accommodate walk-ins if we have openings. Group sizes will be limited to ensure social distancing can be maintained. Visitors may be asked to wait outside briefly to ensure safe social distancing between groups. All visitors must wear masks. Call (785) 242-1250 to make an appointment. Please note: hours and restrictions may change per state, county, and city mandates during the COVID-19 pandemic.

CLOSED on these 2020 holidays: Annual Meeting Day (January 31), Easter (April 4), Independence Day (July 4), Thanksgiving Day (November 25), Black Friday (November 26), Christmas Eve (December 24), Christmas Day (December 25), New Year’s Eve (December 31, and New Year’s Day (January 1)

Admission:

During the COVID-19 pandemic, admission to the museum is free; donations are appreciated.

REGULAR ADMISSION FEES:
Adults:
$5
Seniors 55+: $4
Students (of any age): $2
Preschoolers: Free
Franklin County Historical Society Members: Free
Active Military Personnel and their families: Free Armed Forces Day (May 16) through Labor Day (September 7) as part of the Blue Star Museum program
Franklin County Free Days: Admission is free to all Franklin County residents on the second Sunday of each month
Group Rates: $4 per person. Available for parties of 10 or more with an advanced reservation.
One-Room School Program: Click here for rates and programming details.

Address:
135 W TECUMSEH ST, OTTAWA, KS 66067
785-242-1250

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): No listing located https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/olddepotmuseum

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/jimsawthat/4950982367

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Gluseum https://www.gluseum.com/US/Ottawa/34688309861/Old-Depot-Museum

Google Maps: Google Maps Ottawa, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=46884

Inspirock: https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/ottawa-kansas/old-depot-museum-a6256664123

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/olddepotmuseumkansas/

Kansas GenWeb: No listing located http://www.ksgenweb.org/

Kansas Historical Society: link to the museum https://www.kshs.org/index.php?url=km/items/view/219773

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,66092,p,old%20depot%20museum,i,8409yu78-94c333a24fc54a8f83b092e133554916.cfm

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: No listing located https://kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located http://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/ottawamuseum.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/195433-old-santa-fe-railroad-depot/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/kansas/ottawa/old-depot-museum

National Register of Historic Places: https://khri.kansasgis.org/index.cfm?in=059-4270-00084

NextDoor.com: No listing located

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: Some listings located https://www.pinterest.com/olddepotmuseum/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: No listing located https://www.travelks.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g38967-d6754283-Reviews-Old_Depot_Museum-Ottawa_Kansas.html

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listings located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/olddepotmuseum

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/43405519 (Some videos found)

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMR0QX_Old_Depot_Museum_Ottawa_KS

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Depot_Museum, and is mentioned on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas.

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/old-depot-museum-ottawa

YouTube: Channel – Some videos located: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Old+Depot+Museum+Ottawa+KS

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Genealogy, History, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Old Depot Museum, Ottawa – Kansas Tuesdays March 2, 2021

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Interesting to learn from you how this museum changed

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.