Brown County Museum, Hiawatha – Kansas Tuesdays February 9, 2021

I chose to look in Brown County, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. I went with the Brown County Museum, Hiawatha – https://www.cityofhiawatha.org/residents/museums/brown-county-museum. It may have restrictions due to COVID-19. It is run by the Brown County Historical Society.

Official website: https://www.cityofhiawatha.org/residents/museums/brown-county-museum and https://browncountyhistoricalsociety.com/

Brown County Museum

Hours:

Open 10am – 3pm, Tues – Fri
or by appointment


611 Utah St.
Hiawatha, Kansas 66434

Phone: 785-742-3330

Admission: Free, but donations accepted – check before scheduling a visit; you can join the Historical Society

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/thingstodo-attractions

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/BrownCountyHistoricalSocietyMemorialAuditorium

Flickr: No listing located https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/US/Hiawatha/321689728567353/Brown-County-Historical-Society

Google Maps: Google Maps Hiawatha, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: No listing located https://www.hmd==b.org/

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/321689728567353/brown-county-historical-society/

Kansas GenWeb: No listing located http://www.ksgenweb.org/

Kansas Historical Society: https://www.kshs.org/kansapedia/brown-county-kansas/15263

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,66434,p,brown%20county%20historical%20society,i,8409zh4d-cc3b49e0a5c0450f9e1269896eacd9e4.cfm

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: No listing located https://kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located http://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: No listing located http://www.kansastravel.org/

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/140891-hiawatha-memorial-auditorium/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/kansas/hiawatha/brown-county-museum

National Register of Historic Places: https://khri.kansasgis.org/index.cfm?in=013-2450-00015

NextDoor.com: No listing located

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: No listings located https://www.pinterest.com/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: No listing located https://www.travelks.com/

Trip Advisor: No listing located https://www.tripadvisor.com/

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listings located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: No listing located https://twitter.com/

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/ (No videos found)

Waymarking: No listing located https://www.waymarking.com/

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: no article, and is mentioned on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas. Museum link is to the Wayback Machine: https://web.archive.org/web/20160306110253/http://www.bckshistory.com/

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/brown-county-historical-society-hiawatha

YouTube: Channel – Some videos located https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Brown+County+Museum+Hiawatha+Kansas

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Genealogy, History, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brown County Museum, Hiawatha – Kansas Tuesdays February 9, 2021

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    My wife’s brother’s wife is from Hiawatha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.