Harvey County Historical Museum and Historical Society, Newton – Kansas Tuesdays September 15, 2020

Updated September 16, 2020 with additional links found.

For some reason, this posted 12 hours ago. I checked when I scheduled it and it showed PM. It surprised me when I didn’t see it until I scrolled down the list.

I chose to focus on Harvey County, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. This is a museum and historical society: Harvey County Historical Museum and Historical Society in Newton, Kansas – http://hchm.org/.  Again, check with the museum before visiting due to possible COVID-19 restrictions. There are open with restrictions, but you can learn more at http://hchm.org/about-us/.

Website: http://hchm.org/

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties):  (no listing located)

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/HarveyCountyHistoricalMuseum/

Flickr: Some listings located https://www.flickr.com/photos/historian77/2635758394/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: No listing located http://www.getruralkansas.org/

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/US/Newton/101924853199355/Harvey-County-Historical-Museum

Google Maps: Google Maps, Newton, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: No listing for the museum, but for the Carnegie Library that houses the musem https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=56851

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: One listing located https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/1021707383/harvey-county-historical-museum/

Kansas GenWeb: Link to the museum – http://www.ksgenweb.org/harvey/

Kansas Historical Society: Link to the museum – https://www.kshs.org/p/kansas-museum-of-history-105-counties-105-stories/20152

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/maps/feature-map,ftc,2,fid,2694958,n,harvey%20county%20historical%20society.cfm

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: No listing located https://kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located http://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/harveycountyhistoricalmuseum.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/142579-carnegie-library/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/ks-kansascowtowns/3/#newton

Museums.us: https://www.museums.us/state/kansas/newton/harvey-county-historical-museum

National Register of Historic Places: https://npgallery.nps.gov/NRHP/GetAsset/NRHP/74000840_text

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: Some listings located https://www.pinterest.com/hchmcurator/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: https://www.travelks.com/listing/harvey-county-historical-museum-and-archives/1881/

Trip Advisor: No listing located https://www.tripadvisor.com/

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Harvey%20County%20Historical%20Museum&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: vimeo.com/ (No video found)

Waymarking: No listing located for the museum, but for the Carnegie Library https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMKM9C_Newton_Carnegie_Library

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carnegie_Library_(Newton,_Kansas), but the museum is mentioned on  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/harvey-county-historical-society-newton

 YouTube: Seeing some videos https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Harvey+County+Museum+Newton

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

 

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Genealogy, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.