Popeye Museum and Store, Chester, Illinois – Weirdness Wednesdays September 2, 2020

This post was inspired by Pat’s godandi.blog/2020/08/31/6-u-s-cities-with-bizarre-nicknames/, specifically the reference to Popeye Museum in Chester, Illinois. I didn’t know there was a Popeye Museum. On the island of Malta, there’s a Popeye Village.

It seems like a great Weirdness Wednesdays choice. On the link below, you can join the Popeye Fan Club or order online from the store.

Website: http://www.popeyethesailor.com/shop/index01.htm(Spinach Can Collectibles which houses the Popeye Museum), City of Chester, Illinois Popeye Article

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/popeye-character-trail

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/pages/Popeye%20Museum/354580618453410/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Spinach%20CAN%20Collectibles/161885520501708/

Flickr: Some listings located https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=Popeye+Museum

Foursquare: https://foursquare.com/v/popeye-museum/536595ba498e286801e5aed2/photos

Gluseum: No listing located https://www.gluseum.com/

Google Maps: Google Maps, Chester, Illinois (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=70409

Inspirock: One listing located https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/chester-illinois/popeye-museum-a37885077

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/popeyemuseum/ and

https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/spinachcancollectibles/

Landmarkhunter: http://landmarkhunter.com/206260-popeye-memorial/

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only in Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/illinois/popeye-themed-museum-il/

Pinterest: Some listings located https://www.pinterest.com/pin/240309330087244833/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: https://www.roadsideamerica.com/tip/8208

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/chester-il/attractions/popeye-shop-and-museum

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g35802-d207466-Reviews-Popeye_Museum-Chester_Illinois.html

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: Some listings located https://www.tumblr.com/search/Popeye+Museum

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Popeye%20Museum&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/ (No videos found)

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WM3N5N

Wikipedia: no article; but listed on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Illinois

Yelp: Some listings located https://www.yelp.com/biz/spinach-can-collectibles-chester and https://www.yelp.com/biz/popeye-statue-chester

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Popeye+Museum+Illinois (seeing many videos)

Other Weirdness Wednesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/Weirdness-Wednesdays/

 

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
Quote | This entry was posted in Bloggers, Social Media and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.