Kemper County Historical Museum , De Kalb – Mississippi Mondays August 24, 2020

For today’s Mississippi Mondays post, I checked out De Kalb in Kemper County, and chose Kemper County Historical Museum http://www.kempercounty.com/things-to-do/historic-sites/: as this week’s choice. I am not seeing an official website, other than the Chamber of Commerce. This took a lot longer than expected. I was surprised to find so little about the museum. I will update it if I can find an actual physical address.

Website: http://www.kempercounty.com/things-to-do/historic-sites/ (unofficial county website)

Address:

Jackson Street, De Kalb, Mississippi – no specific address found yet
 
Phone number: 601-743-5060 (forwarded to voice mail, awaiting on a call back from someone)
 

Hours – At this time tours are by appointment. 

Open by appointment only, this former warehouse has been converted into a museum celebrating the past.  The Museum includes artifacts from the life and times of Senator John C. Stennis, one of the longest serving senators in U.S. history.

Admission cost: not seeing cost information

 

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura: No Listing Located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blogs Related – none located

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kemper-County-Chamber-of-Commerce/1627040390901585 (Chamber of Commerce page)

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/ Not seeing anything

FortWiki: No listing located http://www.fortwiki.com/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Geocaching: No listing located https://www.geocaching.com/

Gluseum: No listing located https://www.gluseum.com/

Google Maps: Google Maps Not finding a specific address (Street View unavailable)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/ (No listing located)

Inspirock: No listings located  https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: No listing located https://www.instagram.com/

Landmarkhunter: No listing located http://landmarkhunter.com/

MDAH: http://mshistorynow.mdah.state.ms.us/ (No listing located)

Mississippi Blues Trail: No listing located http://www.msbluestrail.org/

Mississippi Delta Heritage: No listing located http://www.msdeltaheritage.com/

Mississippi Encyclopedia: No listing located https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/

Mississippi Hills: No listing located https://mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: No listing located https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located  – https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located http://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Museums: No listings located http://mississippimuseums.org/

Mississippi Obscura: No listings located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: No listings located https://mississippitoday.org/

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listings located http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listings located https://misspreservation.com/

MS Civil Rights Project: https://mscivilrightsproject.org/

Museums Database: No listing located https://museumsdatabase.com/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Geographic: No listing located

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: No listings located  https://www.pinterest.com/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: No listing located https://maps.roadtrippers.com/

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: No listing located https://www.tripadvisor.com

TripHobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: No listings found for the museum, but found for the Chamber of Commerce https://twitter.com/search?q=Kemper%20County%20Chamber%20of%20Commerce&src=typed_query

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listings located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listings located https://www.visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: No listing located https://www.waymarking.com/

Wikipedia: no article; mentioned on – https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi.

Yelp: No listing located https://www.yelp.com/

YouTube channel or search:  Not seeing many videos  https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Kemper+County+Historical+Museum+De Kalb

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
Quote | This entry was posted in Bloggers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kemper County Historical Museum , De Kalb – Mississippi Mondays August 24, 2020

  1. Pingback: This Week’s Mississippi Mondays Post Is Now Up – August 25, 2020 | Ups and Downs of Family History V2.0

  2. SLIMJIM says:

    Another cool musuem

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.