Butterfield Trail Museum and Historical Association, Russell Springs – Kansas Tuesdays August 4, 2020

I decided to focus on Logan County, Kansas for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. Saw this on Wikipedia: – Butterfield Trail Museum and Historical Association https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Logan_County_Courthouse_(Kansas)  –  and chose it for this week’s post. Due to COVID-19, check with them before scheduling a visit. It used to be the old Logan County Courthouse before the county seat was moved.

Website: http://windyplains.com/butterfield/ old website – http://www.butterfieldtrailmuseum.org/ (link from Wikipedia, but link no longer works – https://web.archive.org/web/20190215192428/http://www.butterfieldtrailmuseum.org/ – Wayback Machine to the rescue)

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: No listing located https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties):  (no listing located)

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/ButterfieldMuseum

Flickr: No listings located https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: No listing located http://www.getruralkansas.org/

Gluseum: No listing located https://www.gluseum.com/

Google Maps: Google Maps, Russsell Springs, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: No listing located for the museum https://www.hmdb.org/; this one is in a different county for the trail: https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=90427

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: One listing located https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/956097216/butterfield-trail-museum/

Kansas GenWeb: No listing located for the museum http://www.ksgenweb.org/logan/

Kansas Historical Society: One listing located – https://www.kshs.org/p/logan-county-history-bibliography/13479

Kansas Hometown Locator: No listing located https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: No listing located https://kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located http://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: One listing located http://kansastravel.org/butterfieldtrailmuseum.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Landmarkhunter: One listing located http://landmarkhunter.com/122362-old-logan-county-courthouse/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

National Register of Historic Places: One listing located https://npgallery.nps.gov/NRHP/GetAsset/NRHP/72000511_text

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only In Your State: No listing located https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/

Pinterest: Some listings located https://www.pinterest.com/henwing/butterfield-trail/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: One listing located; it says Winona, Kansas, but the sign says Russell Springs https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/winona-ks/points-of-interest/butterfield-trail-museum?lng=-96.67528&lat=40.80972&z=4

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: One listing located https://www.travelks.com/listing/butterfield-trail-museum/1936/

Trip Advisor: No listing located https://www.tripadvisor.com/

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Trip Shock: No listing located https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Butterfield%20Trail%20Museum&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: vimeo.com/402820581 (One video found)

Waymarking: One listing located http://staging.waymarking.com/waymarks/WMB9NY_Butterfield_Trail_Museum

Western Vista Historic Byways: One listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/butterfield-trail-museum/

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Old_Logan_County_Courthouse_(Kansas), but mentioned on  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas with link to website – link is broken

Yelp: One listing located, again listing Winona, Kansas https://www.yelp.com/biz/butterfield-trail-assn-winona

 YouTube: Seeing a number of videos https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Butterfield+Trail+Museum

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

 

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, Genealogy, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.