Davis Memorial, Hiawatha – Kansas Tuesdays February 11, 2020

Continuing my journey northward for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post, I asked a friend what there was to do in Hiawatha, Kansas. His answer “Nothing.” I decided to check out what the town had to offer and came across the Davis Memorialhttps://www.cityofhiawatha.org/visitors/what-to-see-do/davis-memorial. The name didn’t ring a bell until I saw the memorial. Once I saw it,  recognition dawned on me. I had heard of the memorial, but I didn’t remember the name of it.

Website: https://www.cityofhiawatha.org/visitors/what-to-see-do/davis-memorial 

Davis Memorial
602 Oregon St
Hiawatha, KS 66434
785-574-7136

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: https://www.atlasobscura.com/places/davis-memorial

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): mentioned – https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/thingstodo-attractions (link to the city’s website on the Davis Memorial)

BillionGraves cemetery link: https://billiongraves.com/cemetery/Mount-Hope-Cemetery/37483

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Davis-Memorial/934318923261011 ()

Find-A-Grave cemetery link: https://www.findagrave.com/cemetery/93119/mount-hope-cemetery

Sarah Davis: https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/7320431/sarah-elizabeth-davis

John Davis: https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/7320426/john-milburn-davis

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=Davis+Memorial+Mount+Hope+Cemetery

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: No listing located http://getruralkansas.org

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/ No listing located

Google Maps: Google Maps, Davis Memorial, Kansas (Street View available)

Historical Marker Database: https://www.hmdb.org/ No listing located

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/499160448/the-davis-memorial/

Kansas GenWeb: http://www.ksgenweb.org/brown// Not seeing much – http://www.ksgenweb.org/brown/hiawat~1.htm

Kansas Historical Society: https://www.kshs.org/natreg/natreg_listings/search/county:BR

Kansas Hometown Locator: https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/maps/distance-directions2.cfm?davis%20memorial@39.85295,-95.53588

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: https://www.kansassampler.org/8wondersofkansas-overall/davis-memorial-hiawatha

Kansas Transportation: No listing located https://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: http://www.kansastravel.org/davismemorial.htm

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Legends of America: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

Legends of Kansas: No listing located https://www.legendsofamerica.com/

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/kansas/ks-quirky-monuments/

Pinterest: Several listings located https://www.pinterest.com/pin/99712579220524553/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: https://www.roadsideamerica.com/story/2505

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/hiawatha-ks/points-of-interest/davis-memorial

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: No listing located https://www.travelks.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g38779-d12447198-Reviews-Davis_Memorial-Hiawatha_Kansas.html

Trip Hobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Tumblr: https://fallnmypetzombie.tumblr.com/post/178997949131/fallnangelcreations-the-davis-memorial-mount

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Davis%20Memorial%20Hiawatha&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: https://vimeo.com/ (No videos located)

Waymarking: No listings located https://www.waymarking.com/

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Davis_Memorial, and not mentioned on  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas

Yelp: No listing located https://www.yelp.com/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Davis+Memorial+Hiawatha (Several videos found)

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Cemetery, Genealogy, Military History, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Davis Memorial, Hiawatha – Kansas Tuesdays February 11, 2020

  1. SLIMJIM says:

    Wow my wife’s brother’s wife is from this town!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Small world. Never been to the town, but I would like just to see the memorial and see what other local attractions are there. Davis did a lot to help the poor and his memorial has been a tourist draw that pumps money into the local economy.

      I used to joke about finding a Wichita connection even though I had no known ancestors who lived in Wichita. About 2012, I found a connection. My great-grandfather’s niece. Mary, moved to Wichita about 1913-4 when her husband got a job with a local newspaper. Her mother was the sister of my great-grandfather. Most of her family are buried near Enid, Oklahoma. Turns out some of Mary’s great-grandchildren may still be in the area as most of her children stayed here. I worked at the major bank in town without knowing her grandson was a vice president at the bank.

      I didn’t recognize Mary’s name on the headstone as I didn’t track her mother’s children closely. When I checked Find-A-Grave and saw her parents, I made the connection. Sarah (Kring) and Simeon Swartz aren’t that common a couple name. I got to visit their graves a few years back as a friend was heading to Oklahoma.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to ICT Genealogist Cancel reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.