Wichita County Historical Society and the Museum of the Great Plains of Leoti, Leoti – Kansas Tuesdays November 19, 2019

I decided to focus on Wichita County for this week’s Kansas Tuesdays post. It’s amazing how many people and a few TV scripts assumed that Wichita, Kansas is in Wichita County. It’s not; it’s in Sedgwick County. Wichita County is in the western part (central with 3 counties above it and 3 counties below it) of Kansas. Sedgwick County is south central Kansas. I did a check for Leoti, the county seat and found this on Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/museum-of-the-great-plains-of-leoti-leoti?osq=things+to+do. The museum is run by the Wichita County Historical Society.

Websites: http://www.wichitacountymuseum.org/

Address: Leoti, Wichita County, Kansas
P.O. Box 1561
201 N. 4th St.
620-375-2316

Hours:

Museum Winter Hours:

Tuesday thru Friday 1:00-5:00PM
Saturday and Sunday 2:00-5:00PM
Closed Mondays-will open by appointment

Museum Summer Hours:

Tuesday thru Friday 1:00 PM  – 5:00 PM
Saturday and Sunday 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM
Closed Mondays-will open by appointment

Admission: ? Not seeing admission cost. Call ahead to see how much it costs to visit.

Wichita County Historical Society Membership link: http://www.wichitacountymuseum.org/memberapp.htm

360 Wichita: No listing located https://www.360wichita.com/

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

Atlas Obscura: https://www.atlasobscura.com/ No listing located

Big Kansas Road Trip (mostly Brown, Doniphan, and Nemaha Counties): No listing located – https://bigkansasroadtrip.com/

Facebook (website, search, or blog page): https://www.facebook.com/museumofthegreatplains

Flickr: No listing located https://www.flickr.com/

Foursquare: No listing located https://foursquare.com/

Four States Homepage: No listing located https://www.fourstateshomepage.com/

Get Rural Kansas: https://www.getruralkansas.com/Leoti/112Explore/1853.shtml

Gluseum: https://www.gluseum.com/US/Leoti/159159104231929/Museum-of-the-Great-Plains

Google Maps: Google Maps, Leoti, Kansas

Historical Marker Database: No listing located https://www.hmdb.org/

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/locations/122079307802270/kansas-veterans/ Several listings under Wakeeney Veteran

Kansas GenWeb: http://www.ksgenweb.org/ not seeing anything

Kansas Historical Society: Not much located https://www.kshs.org/kansapedia/wichita-county-kansas/15356

Kansas Hometown Locator: No listing located https://kansas.hometownlocator.com/

Kansas Living Magazine: No listing located https://kansaslivingmagazine.com/

KansasSampler.org: No listing located https://www.kansassampler.org/

Kansas Transportation: No listing located https://kansastransportation.blogspot.com/

Kansas Travel.org: No listing located http://www.kansastravel.org/

KS History Group D: No listing located https://kshistorygroupd.wordpress.com/

Legends of America: https://www.legendsofamerica.com/ No listing located

Legends of Kansas: No listing located http://www.legendsofkansas.com/

NextDoor.com: No listing located https://nextdoor.com/

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/kansas/ks-11-underrated-museums/ (#7)

Pinterest: No listing located https://fi.pinterest.com/

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America: No listing located https://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/leoti-ks/attractions/museum-of-the-great-plains-leoti

Silly America: no listing located, but very few Kansas listings to begin with https://sillyamerica.com/

Southeast Kansas Living: No listing located http://www.sekliving.com/

Spaces Archives: No listing located http://spacesarchives.org/

Travel Kansas: https://www.travelks.com/listing/museum-of-the-great-plains/1640/

Trip Advisor: No listing located https://www.tripadvisor.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/search?q=Museum%20of%20the%20Great%20Plains%20Leoti&src=typed_query

Vimeo channel or search: No listing located https://vimeo.com/

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/waymarks/WME84_Museum_of_The_Great_Plains_in_Leoti_Kansas

Western Vista Historic Byways: No listing located http://www.westernvistashistoricbyway.com/

Wikipedia: No listing located https://en.wikipedia.org/, but mentioned on https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Kansas with link to website

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/museum-of-the-great-plains-of-leoti-leoti?osq=things+to+do (same as link above)

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Museum+of+the+Great+Plains+of+Leoti

Past Kansas Tuesdays posts: https://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/kansas-tuesdays/

About Wichita Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Genealogy, Military History, Social Media, States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.