Keesler Air Force Base, Biloxi – Mississippi Mondays November 18, 2019

I had planned on heading back north with today’s post, but after learning of my brother-in-law’s death yesterday – Rest In Peace to My Brother-in-law, Dwight T., Retired USAF Veteran Died November 15, 2019, I decided to head south again as Dwight spent a lot of time at Keesler Air Force Base in Biloxi, Mississippi.

Couple of disclaimers: I worked on Keesler briefly from 1988 – 1989 as part of MWR/NAF at Muse Manor. My father was stationed at Keesler AFB when he met my mother. A half-uncle by marriage was also stationed at Keesler when he met my half-aunt.

The base is named for Samuel Reeves Keesler, Jr.: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samuel_Reeves_Keesler

Official website: https://www.keesler.af.mil/

https://www.dvidshub.net/unit/81TRW

Address:

Google Maps Keesler AFB

Biloxi, MS

Hours:

Contact Visitors Center as to requirements to access the base for military, retirees, and non-military:

Visitors Center (Main Gate) – (228) 377-3844

Telephone:

https://www.keesler.af.mil/Contact-Us/

Price: N/A

Location of Historical Marker:

N/A

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura No listing located – https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blogs Related: None

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/keeslerafb/

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=Keesler+AFB (mixed bag)

FortWiki: http://www.fortwiki.com/Keesler_Air_Force_Base

Foursquare: https://foursquare.com/v/keesler-air-force-base/4b89d8fef964a520155132e3

Google Maps: Google Maps Keesler AFB (same link as above)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/ (No listing located)

Inspirock: No listing located https://www.inspirock.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/keesler_afb/

https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/keeslerafb/

MDAH: http://www.mdah.ms.gov/timeline/?s=Keesler

Mississippi Blues Trail: http://www.msbluestrail.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Encyclopedia: No listing located https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/

Mississippi Hills: No listing located http://www.mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/maps/feature-map,ftc,2,fid,2676414,n,keesler%20air%20force%20base.cfm

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located http://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Museums: No listing located http://mississippimuseums.org/

Mississippi Obscura: No listing located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: https://mississippitoday.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listing located  http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listing located https://misspreservation.com/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Geographic: No listing located

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/ No listing located)

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=Keesler%20AFB&rs=typed

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America:  https://www.roadsideamerica.com/ (No listing located)

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/keesler-air-force-base-ms/sports/keesler-dolphin-ii-fishing-charters

https://maps.roadtrippers.com/regions/biloxi-ms

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g43686-d8412297-Reviews-Air_Force_Inn_Keesler_AFB-Biloxi_Mississippi.html

TripHobo: https://www.triphobo.com/places/biloxi-united-states/keesler-air-force-base

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/81trwkeeslerafb

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listing located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listing located https://visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located  https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/wm/search.aspx?f=1&kw=Keesler&st=2 (Several listings located)

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keesler_Air_Force_Base,

not mentioned https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/keesler-air-force-base-biloxi-6

YouTube channel or search: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1sMj3Xuyg5n2xb6w4–zw

https://www.youtube.com/user/81TRW/videos

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Genealogy, History, Military History, Social Media, States and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.