Mississippi Armed Forces Museum, Camp Shelby – Mississippi Mondays November 11, 2019

I am taking a detour south in (as I was headed north and was about halfway up Mississippi) for this week’s Mississippi Mondays post. In honor of Veterans Day, I chose Mississippi Armed Forces Museum, Camp Shelby which I saw on Wikipedia –  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi. I looked for other military museums in my search that were more northerly, but didn’t see any on Wikipedia‘s link above.

Official website: https://armedforcesmuseum.us/;

https://armedforcesmuseum.us/afm-foundation-board

Find an Army Museum: https://history.army.mil/museums/directory.html – a new resource I was not aware of.

Address:

Google Maps Camp Shelby

Building 850, Forrest Ave. W

Camp Shelby, MS 39407

Hours:

  • Tuesday – Saturday: 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
  • Sunday – Monday: Closed
  • Open most patriotic holidays including Memorial Day, July 4th, and Veterans Day
  • Closed most federal and state holidays
  • Free Admission

Telephone: (601) 558-2757

Price: Free

Location of Historical Marker:

N/A

Abandoned Playgrounds: No listing located https://abandonedplaygrounds.com/

The Abandoned South: https://theabandonedsouth.tumblr.com/ No listing located

Asylum Projects: http://www.asylumprojects.org/ No listing located

Atlas Obscura No listing located – https://www.atlasobscura.com/

Blogs Related: None

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/mafmuseum/

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/search/?text=Mississippi+Armed+Forces+Museum (mixed bag)

FortWiki: No listing located http://www.fortwiki.com/

Foursquare: No listing located except for one in Portuguese: https://pt.foursquare.com/v/mississippi-armed-forces-museum/4cec1209f3bda1438990cfe4 Not sure how good this translation is https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=pt&u=https://pt.foursquare.com/v/mississippi-armed-forces-museum/4cec1209f3bda1438990cfe4&prev=search

Google Maps: Google Maps Camp Shelby (same link as above)

GulfCoast.org: No listing located https://www.gulfcoast.org/

Historical Marker Database (HMDB): https://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=71589 (Camp Shelby, not the Museum itself)

Inspirock: https://www.inspirock.com/united-states/hattiesburg/mississippi-armed-forces-museum-a222591495

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/mafmuseum/

MDAH: http://www.mdah.ms.gov/timeline/places/mississippi-armed-forces-museum-2/

Mississippi Blues Trail: http://www.msbluestrail.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Encyclopedia: https://mississippiencyclopedia.org/entries/muddy-waters/

Mississippi Hills: No listing located http://www.mississippihills.org/

Mississippi Hometown Locator: https://mississippi.hometownlocator.com/nearby/place-details,z,39462,p,mississippi%20armed%20forces%20museum,i,840dj893-25fd796347514632b827bc6222218ea6.cfm

Mississippi Land Conservation Assistance Network: No listing located https://www.mississippilandcan.org/

The Mississippi Link: No listing located http://themississippilink.com/

Mississippi Magazine: No listing located https://www.mismag.com/

Mississippi Museums: http://mississippimuseums.org/mississippi-armed-forces-museum/

Mississippi Obscura: No listing located https://mississippiobscura.com/

Mississippi Today: https://mississippitoday.org/ No listing located

Mississippi Delta Top 40: No listing located  http://msdeltatop40.com/

Miss Preservation: No listing located https://misspreservation.com/

Mysterious Universe: https://mysteriousuniverse.org/ No listing located

National Geographic: No listing located

Only In Your State: https://www.onlyinyourstate.com/mississippi/fascinating-military-museum-in-ms/ (several other listings in Only In Your State)

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/msdigilibrary/mississippi-armed-forces-museum/

https://www.pinterest.com/search/pins/?q=Mississippi%20Armed%20Forces%20Museum&rs=typed

Roads and Kingdoms: No listing located https://roadsandkingdoms.com/

Roadside America:  https://www.roadsideamerica.com/ (No listing located)

Road Trippers: https://maps.roadtrippers.com/us/camp-shelby-39407/attractions/mississippi-armed-forces-museum

Save My Place MS: No listing located http://www.savemyplacems.com/

Silly America: (No Mississippi locations at all) http://sillyamerica.com/

Southern Food and Beverage: No listing located https://sofab.fandom.com/

Southern Spaces: No listing located https://southernspaces.org/

This Is My South: No listing located https://www.thisismysouth.com/

Today in Mississippi: No listing located http://www.todayinmississippi.com/

Traveling Mom: No listing located https://www.travelingmom.com/

Trip Advisor: https://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g43810-d594477-Reviews-Mississippi_Armed_Forces_Museum-Hattiesburg_Mississippi.html

TripHobo: No listing located https://www.triphobo.com/

Tripshock: No listing located  https://www.tripshock.com/

Tumblr: No listing located https://www.tumblr.com/

Twitch channel or search: No listing located https://www.twitch.tv/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/mafmuseum

Vacations Made Easy: https://www.vacationsmadeeasy.com/ No listing located

 Vimeo channel or search: No listing located https://vimeo.com/

Visit the Delta: No listing located https://visitthedelta.com/

VisitMississippi.org: No listing located  https://visitmississippi.org/

Waymarking: https://www.waymarking.com/ (No listing located)

Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mississippi_Armed_Forces_Museum,

mentioned https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_museums_in_Mississippi

Yelp: https://www.yelp.com/biz/mississippi-armed-forces-museum-camp-shelby

YouTube channel or search: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Mississippi+Armed+Forces+Museum

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogi34zK_NL8&feature=youtu.be

Past Mississippi Mondays postshttps://upsdownsfamilyhistory.wordpress.com/tag/mississippi-mondays/

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. I suffer Bipolar I, ultra-ultra rapid cycling, mixed episodes. Blog on a variety of topics - genealogy, DNA, mental health, among others. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Genealogy, History, Military History, Social Media, States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.