DNA, Genealogy, and Privacy: Handling the Double-Edged Sword Webinar – Thomas MacEntee August 2, 2019

I received an e-mail about this free webinar on August 2, 2019 at 2 P. M. U. S. Eastern Time – DNA, Genealogy, and Privacy: Handling the Double-Edged Sword https://familytreewebinars.com/webinar_details.php?webinar_id=1113.

Only the first 1,000 signing in will be able to attend, but if you sign up and miss being one of the 1,000, the webinar will be viewable later in the day.

Friday, August 02, 2019

  • 2:00pm Eastern
  • 1:00pm Central
  • 12:00pm Mountain
  • 11:00am Pacific

Has your concern for privacy prevented you or a family member for taking a DNA test? What about sharing your genealogy research data online with practical strangers (even though you might be related)? Especially as personal DNA testing increases in popularity, and with increased media attention about cold cases solved using DNA data and the use of genealogy databases, today’s genealogist needs to stay on top of the latest information concerning privacy. We’ll review the current status of privacy practices by the five major DNA test kit vendors, current laws and regulations, the role of law enforcement, and what we might expect to see related to privacy in the future.

– – – –

Day of webinar

You will receive an email reminder both one day and one hour prior to the live event. Both emails will have a link which reads, “Click here to join.” This is the link you will click on to join the live webinar. We suggest that you join the webinar at least 30-40 minutes prior to the scheduled time and that you turn your speakers or headset up. Remember that only the first 1,000 to join will be able to participate in the live webinar. If you get a message that the webinar is full, you’ll still be able to view the recording later in the day in the webinar archives.

 

 

About ICT Genealogist

Originally from Gulfport, Mississippi. Live in Wichita, Kansas now. Let's collaborateDealspotr.com
This entry was posted in Bloggers, DNA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.