52 Ancestors Week 14 – Thomas J. Baylor Mystery Husband #1

Here’s the story behind the challenge if you want to take part or if you just want to browse and see some interesting family histories. http://www.nostorytoosmall.com/52-ancestors-in-52-weeks. Averaging over 200 blog entries/week in the challenge.

This week’s entry is Thomas J. Baylor. He was Mom’s first husband and I mention him briefly in my 52 Ancestor Week 11 post about my sister Lorraine. He was born on 09 April 1930 or 1931, depending on which records (Social Security Death Index or Ohio Death Index) you believe. This makes him 16 or 17 when he married Mom in 1947.

I don’t know much about Thomas. I came across a 1947 Russell County, Alabama  marriage license index on Ancestry several years ago and it mentioned Mom’s name with a record number, but the grooms were listed separately and short of manually checking every page of the groom listings, it was unlikely I would find mystery husband #1. At the time, I thought he was Lorraine’s father since the marriage year matched Lorraine’s supposed birth year. Last year I was talking to my sister and she mentioned Thomas Baylor and that he was Mom’s first husband. With this new piece of evidence, I was able to find him on the Alabama marriage index and verify his marriage license number matched Mom’s number.

Mom was living in Columbus, Muscogee County, Georgia when they were married on 05 August 1947. They ran across the river and were married in Russell County, Alabama, probably Phenix City. Mom was living with one of her sisters. I don’t have the details, but her sister had the marriage annulled because Mom was only 16.

I haven’t found in the 1940 federal census. I did find Ohio and Social Security Death Index records for Thomas Baylor from Georgia dying 25 February 1994 in the Akron, Summit County, Ohio area. I haven’t found a grave on any of the graving sites, but I found a grave for Pauline Baylor (1926 – 1986) on Find-A-Grave in an Akron cemetery. Somebody on Ancestry.com has Thomas marrying Agnes Pauline Donathan (date and place unknown).

I am continuing the hunt for more information on Thomas Baylor.

 

 

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors, Family, Find A Grave. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 Ancestors Week 14 – Thomas J. Baylor Mystery Husband #1

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Week 11 The Sister I Never Knew – Dorothy Lorraine Strange | Ups and Downs of Family History

  2. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 14 Recap | No Story Too Small

Leave a Reply

