Tombstone Tuesday Introduction Kent Sidney Smith (1943 – 2017)

Welcome to Tombstone Tuesday, a weekly look at a tombstone. In some cases, the tombstone will be one I photographed. In other cases, it will be one I transcribed on BillionGraves. In some cases, the tombstone showcased may come from a Facebook cemetery group.

I found Kent’s headstone New Year’s Eve 2012 while transcribing records on BillionGraves. I was surprised as the death date read 2017! I wondered if the date should have read 2007, 2010, or 2012. I managed to find a friend of Kent who assumed me Kent was alive and well. In an e-mail to a contributor on Find-A-Grave, I mentioned Kent’s unusual death date. He said it sounded like something Kent would do. This was my first experience where someone added an intentionally incorrect death date.

 

This entry was posted in BillionGraves, Find A Grave, Tombstone Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

