52 Ancestors Week 9 Aunt “K”

Here’s the story behind the challenge if you want to participate. http://www.nostorytoosmall.com/52-ancestors-in-52-weeks. Here is the recap for Week 8. Week 8 had about 200 blog articles, with a few posted after the Wednesday deadline which will show up in this week’s recap.

Disclaimer: K is not my aunt’s real name and many of her details won’t be covered in detail. Aunt K battled paranoid schizophrenia for much of her life and I don’t know if she went public with her condition. I have no way of contacting her children. Although there have been good strides in the way people with mental illness are treated, there is still a long way to go.

I only met Aunt K a couple of times when I was young. They lived in Colorado and I lived most of my life over 1,000 miles away. I learned of Aunt K’s paranoid schizophrenia by accident. I was 35 years old and Mom casually mentioned K’s medicine was working fine. I asked her what medicine Aunt K was taking and Mom said it was for paranoid schizophrenia. Mom didn’t name the medicine, but did say her sister had been stable for many decades.

I have more questions than answers with Aunt K. How did she and two of her sisters wind up in Georgia? When and why did she move to Colorado? Where and when did she get married? I pieced together parts of her life from various sources, but her life is like a patchwork quilt with a handful of squares completed, and a bunch yet to be done. It surprised me to see her show up in Georgia since I wasn’t aware she ever lived there.

 

This entry was posted in 52 Ancestors, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 52 Ancestors Week 9 Aunt “K”

  1. Pingback: 52 Ancestors Challenge: Week 10 Recap | No Story Too Small

  2. Pingback: 52 Ancestor Week 2 Ollie Kring Matriarch of the Kring Family Part 1 | Ups and Downs of Family History

Leave a Reply

