I Haven’t Seen It All – Grave Defrosters

This is my first post in a new series called “I Haven’t Seen It All.” This series will be an irregular series due to its nature. How often have you said “Now I’ve seen it all” or heard someone else say it? I used to say it, but shortly after saying it something would come along and show I haven’t seen it all, not by a long shot.

I found this article about grave defrosters posted in a Facebook group. I don’t think any cemeteries in the Wichita area use grave defrosters, but they would have come in handy with several periods of below zero and near zero weather over the last month. The article does mention a claw device and one cemetery in town does use a similar device in warmer weather. It also uses a modified jack hammer to tamp down the ground after a new grave was filled to reduce the likelihood of sinkhole formation.

This entry was posted in I Haven't Seen It All and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

