Getty Images – Almost Free To Use – With Some Major Strings Attached

In case you haven’t heard Getty Images has made many of its images free to use as long as you follow the rules. I am going to defer to Judy G. Russell’s evaluation http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog/2014/03/07/getty-images-not-quite-free-to-use

I don’t plan on using them. While my blog currently isn’t commercial, I will be adding affiliate banners and links which could put the blog under the commercial restriction. I also don’t want to have to deal with them getting free ads on my blog as I don’t see this as a good trade-off for getting to use the images “for free.” I am pretty sure I couldn’t afford one hour of their attorneys’ time, much less how much it would cost if they got sued because of something I did on my blog (see Judy’s footnote 8).

This entry was posted in The Legal Genealogist and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

