New Toy – Wordle (Word Cloud)

Thank you to Judy for introducing me to Wordle. After reading about Wordle on Judy’s blog http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog/2014/01/27/terms-of-use-clouding-the-issue, I decided to try it out and see what it generated based on my blog. I was familiar with one of the other word cloud sites from a Facebook post.

Wordle 27 Jan 2014

I compared Wordle with what WordPress has for my tagged items.

Blog 27 Jan 2014 1

Judy’s article does a great job of comparing the three companies’ terms of use and a good read if you are considering using Wordle, Tagxedo, or Tagul on your blog or website. Wordle has the least limits on what you can do with your word cloud creation and Tagxedo the most restrictions.

If you want to create a word cloud using Wordle, Tagxedo, or Tagul.

I appreciate the way Wordle makes it easy to know what you can do with it.

Wordle FAQs

May I use my Wordles for…

Yes.

The images you create with Wordle are yours to use in any way you choose. You may print T-Shirts, business cards, brochures, what have you. On the other hand, when you place an image in the gallery, anyone else can use it too! So if you want to keep it to yourself, print it out without saving it.

Keep in mind that if you save a Wordle to the public Gallery, then you can’t control how other people use it.

If you want to give credit to wordle.net, feel free! But it’s not required.

Here’s an example of my blog results using Tagxedo.  http://www.tagxedo.com/artful/33a2cf6b37a340d2 I tried to share it on Facebook and Twitter, but it wouldn’t work. My example using Tagul http://tagul.com/preview?id=259749@1

I will stick with using Wordle for my blog examples because it has the least restrictions on usage. The other two options are better in different ways, but the restrictions outweigh the benefits for my purposes.

 

This entry was posted in The Legal Genealogist, Word Cloud and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

